Elections are held nationally in three-year cycles for both Parliament and local authorities. The size and geographic shape of electorates is decided after each five-yearly population census.

Maori and part-Maori may choose between a general electoral district (main roll) or one of the four regional Maori electorates (maori roll).

Registration is compulsory but voting is voluntary. New Zealand Post (Post Office) prints the electoral rolls and certain centres keep the most recent copy. For local body elections (City or District Council) voters must register but do not need to vote.

Electoral Rolls

North Shore:

District electoral rolls for Devonport held at Devonport Archives.
Main Roll for Northcote 1995 at Takapuna NZ Collection, Takapuna Quick Reference, Takapuna Adult, Birkenhead Adult,
Electoral Roll for East Coast Bays (North Shore City) 1986, East Coast Bays Stack.
Northern Maori Electoral Roll 1975, Takapuna NZ Collection, Takapuna NZ Collection REF, Takapuna Quick Reference.

Auckland Centennial Council. (1940)., "Roll of early settlers and descendants in the Auckland Province prior to the end of 1852." Whitcombe & Tombs, Auckland, N.Z., Registers of births, etc. Auckland, and centennial memorial publication. Local History Collection.

NZSG, St Johns., (1994)., "1893 women on first NZ electoral roll." [microform]. New Zealand Society of Genealogists, Auckland, NZ. Takapuna City Libraries.

Holdings at other locations: See the additional holdings for this title.